Help Center

How can we help?

What do multiple identical screenshots mean?

Sometimes employers and managers notice that their employees are seemingly "working" or "logged on and tracking time" according to Time Doctor, but their screenshots are all exactly the same. For example, this means that over the course of 30 minutes to a few hours, they might see only one screenshot but screenshot's time stamp is progressive. This means that the time was running but the images did not change. They appear to be frozen.

This is often a case of the employee misusing Time Doctor. For the lack of better term, they may be cheating and keeping Time Doctor from going idle by clicking on the mouse and keyboard. We have received many reports about this and in almost every case the employers discovered that their employees were intentionally doing this to appear as if they were working, when in fact they were not.

The solution we recommend is speaking to your employees and asking them to only track their time when they are actually working.

Here is a sample image of frozen screenshots:


If this happens, there are only a couple of things you need to check:

1. If the screenshots are frozen but the timestamps are progressive or changing then it is likely that the employee is trying to cheat the system and is not actually working.
2. If the screenshots are frozen and the timestamps are all the same and not changing then Time Doctor is experiencing technical difficulties. If this happens, please contact us to let us know.

At Time Doctor, we take pride in facilitating employer to employee transparency and honest working relationships. We encourage you to talk with your staff if you are seeing repeating screenshots.

For questions, comments, or feedback regarding this topic, please send an email to support@timedoctor.com.

Did you find this helpful?