Help Center

How can we help?

Determining if Time Doctor Is Still Running

This short guide will teach you how to tell if the Time Doctor application is still tracking time as well as if the application is still running in the background. If you stop tracking time, that does not mean that you have exited the program completely.

How to tell if Time Doctor is live and tracking time:

Time Doctor has an Activity Bar which can be displayed at all times or hidden. We recommend displaying the activity bar at all times. The activity bar is very useful since it remains “on top” of all windows and programs.

To enable the Activity Bar, please follow these steps:

Even if you go on a break, the activity bar will stay on top to remind you of your current time tracking status.

NOTE: The color of the top in the app changes from green to grey when you are not tracking time.

"I don't see the activity bar. I am not sure whether Time Doctor is running or not."

If you click on the X to close the Time Doctor desktop application, either in the small activity bar or on the app where you can see your tasks and time tracking, Time Doctor has not closed. It is still running and it is still on. In fact, if you have not clicked the Stop button, Time Doctor will continue to track work time.

To stop tracking time, you must click the Stop button. Again, if you click the X to close the Time Doctor desktop application, it will continue running and tracking time, even though it will not be visible on your desktop.

To shut down the application completely, please go to File > Close.

To restart the application after a complete shutdown, you will have to click on the desktop icon and may be asked to log in again, unless you have selected Remember Me in the login box.

For questions, comments, or feedback regarding this topic, please send an email to support@timedoctor.com.

Did you find this helpful?