Help Center

How can we help?

Employee Privacy and Safety Concerns for Time Doctor Users

Not to worry! Once employees understand how Time Doctor works, these concerns almost always disappear.

Let us explain what Time Doctor does.

First thing to know is that Time Doctor DOES NOT monitor anything on your computer when you are not tracking your time. It will only track your activity when you select a task and track time for it.

Besides helping employees to manage their time through prioritized task lists, Time Doctor helps business owners and managers see how time is being spent. This means that once you install Time Doctor, your manager will be able to see when you have worked, how much time you have spent on which projects and tasks as well as which websites and applications you have used. Managers can use this information to more effectively run their operation.

Do you want to know exactly what information your manager can see about your work? That is easy! Just log into your account on the Time Doctor website, and you will have access to exactly the same reports and data about your work as your manager.

Time Doctor only tracks how you spend your time when you are working. If you tell the Time Doctor software that you are on a break by clicking on the Break button, Time Doctor will stop recording your activities until you tell it that you have begun working again. And, of course, if you close Time Doctor or sign out of the application, none of your activity will be recorded.

Our position on privacy is that a company has the right to know what team members are doing during work hours, but has absolutely no right to know what team members are doing during their breaks or after work.

If your manager has enabled the Screenshots feature, you will also be able to see all screenshots that were taken while you were working and will be able to delete any screenshots that you choose. This screenshot removal option has been included to give you more control over your privacy. Please check with your company owner enabled if "Allow Deletion of Screenshots" is enabled for your company. If it's not, you will not be able to delete your screenshots.

Is your data safe? Absolutely. All communication to our servers is secured by SSL encryption. The files on the server are encrypted to provide an extra level of security for company data. The servers are located in secure enterprise data center facilities with 24/7 monitoring and hosting support, so you can rest assured that your data is safe.

Once you start using Time Doctor and experience how it works and what is recorded, we are sure that you will be comfortable and will find it to be an effective time management tool. A significant percentage of our customers are individuals who use Time Doctor simply to organize their tasks and better manage their own time.

Many employees who use Time Doctor - especially employees who work remotely - are happy that their managers will finally know how much time they spend working, erasing any doubts that they may be less productive than other team members.

For questions, comments, or feedback regarding this topic, please send an email to support@timedoctor.com.

Did you find this helpful?